University of Wisconsin–Madison

Paid Leave

Legal Holidays

2022 Observance Date 2021 Observance Date Legal Holiday Annual Observance Date
Saturday, January 1* Friday, January 1 New Year’s Day January 1
Monday, January 17 Monday, January 18 MLK Day Third Monday in January
Monday, May 30 Monday, May 31 Memorial Day Last Monday in May
Monday, July 4 Monday, July 5** Independence Day July 4
Monday, September 5 Monday, September 6 Labor Day First Monday in September
Thursday, November 24 Thursday, November 25 Thanksgiving Fourth Thursday in November
Saturday, December 24* Friday, December 24 Christmas Eve December 24
Monday, December 26** Saturday, December 25* Christmas December 25
Saturday, December 31* Friday, December 31 New Year’s Eve December 31

*When a legal holiday falls on a Saturday, eligible employees are granted eight hours of floating legal holiday (prorated for part-time).
**When a legal holiday falls on a Sunday, the legal holiday is observed and UW–Madison is closed on the Monday following the legal holiday.

Due to varying business needs throughout UW, some employees may be required to work on a legal holiday. Employees who are required to work on a legal holiday, or if the legal holiday is on an employee’s regularly scheduled day off, will be granted a floating legal holiday.